Few days ago, one of my YAD friends, Yunita, just shared to me about her study plan. She wanted to continue her Bachelor Degree at USA. Wow! I was quite surprised at that time because of the nation, USA. Haha… The major that she planned to take is about Fashion Design. It is at Parsons the New School for Design, New York City. Cool! Haha…

There is no scholarship that is provided in that university. But, talking about that, she reminds me about scholarship which I ever discussed about with my tutor (Windy) at 88 English few weeks ago. At that time, she asked me to do writing, and then she wrote:

Please describe about yourself and why this scholarship should be given to you!

She gave me around 10-15 minutes to write it. Here what I wrote at that time:

My name is David Wijaya. I am 21 years old now. I am in the 2nd semester in Mikroskil. I take IT mayor because I thought that technology is very important in this life and I want to create new technology to be applied in human’s life. I have 2 siblings and I am the eldest one. This condition makes me more independent to face my life.

With this scholarship, I hope that it can motivate me to be more independent. Though my family can support my life, but I think if I have the ability to get this scholarship, I will try my best. This will let me indirectly support my family’s financial and keep in learning and learning.

She said that my writing was good but there are some points which need to be observed. Because there are so many people in this world who apply for scholarship, but if your writing is like that, maybe you won’t be chosen.  Here are the points:

  1. Tenses
  2. Vocabulary
  3. A good diction
  4. Family situation
  5. The benefit of the scholarship for people, not only us
  6. First word

In the 6th point, actually this makes people remember with us. If we don’t have any special word or unique word as the first starting, we will same with thousands or millions students outside there. We can write like this at the first, “I want that scholarship!” or “I am crazy with that scholarship!” It is really logic I think. Hahaha…

Actually, I don’t have any experience about scholarship and hence I can’t tell too much about that. Hoho… And talking about study at USA, I just knew from her (Yunita) that for students who want to continue their study at USA, SAT will be one of requirements in Bachelor Degree. Though not all universities have that SAT requirement, but mostly they have.

More information about SAT, you can read from Wikipedia. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/SAT and about Parsons the New School for Design, you can visit http://www.newschool.edu/parsons/.

Hope this information can be useful, and at least we can get additional knowledge about it. For who will continue their study abroad, remember to find a lot of information about the school, major, requirement, fee, living cost, etc. Don’t ever miss once and do a good preparation before leave your hometown.

加油 !

